Advisory Board

The company entrusted with the strategic management of the planning and realization Steering Group Science City Hamburg Bahrenfeld of representatives of the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg (senators and state councilors), the management of Science City Hamburg Bahrenfeld GmbH, the federal government, the University of Hamburg and the German Electron Synchrotron (DESY) is supported by an interdisciplinary committee. Advisory Board supplemented.

The advisory board advises the steering group independently and constructively, with the members of the advisory board contributing their expertise and experience to the development process and providing critical support.


  • Sally Below
  • Prof. Dr. Vanessa Carlow
  • Bärbel Dauber
  • Tanja Ferkau
  • Dr. Thomas Götz
  • Prof. Kerstin Höger
  • Prof. Dr. Katharina Kohse-Höinghaus
  • Prof. Dr. Barbara Lenz (Chairwoman)
  • Ralf Tegtmeyer

The advisory board of Science City Hamburg Bahrenfeld is to comprise nine members in the future. The staffing process is currently underway.

Fields of activity and organization

The advisory board is interdisciplinary and consists of scientists, entrepreneurs, representatives of civil society and funding agencies.

This interdisciplinary organization allows for a wide range of topics: from the further development of the local science system as well as its planning prerequisites, the further development of regional innovation systems and the qualification of knowledge transfer, to urban planning and architectural issues of sustainable urban district development including the involvement of the local urban society in the planning processes.

The advisory board meets twice a year. The chair is determined by majority vote. All members are appointed by the Supervisory Board of HafenCity Hamburg GmbH for a term of two years and serve in an honorary capacity.